Read Reviews

Reviews for The Black Crowes: 7/12/2008 BC Roadshow, Toronto, ONT

Download The Black Crowes 7/12/2008



   ???  (10/23/2008 7:09:43 PM)

So what the hell is this anyways??!!?

According to the website: The download format is a natural progression for the serious Black Crowes collector and the new fan alike, offering an opportunity to listen shows from a current tour very soon after they've happened, mastered directly from the soundboard.

There is no way that this cd is from the soundboard. Its a good audience tape at best. I could have got one of these for FREE let alone pay 23 bucks!!

Anybody want it? It's going in the trading pool...

   Todd McDaniel  (8/5/2008 7:44:04 PM)

This performance at the Historic Massey Hall certainly did not disapoint. Chris Robinson's vocals were nothing less then stellar.
The band was so, so tight. I found it a very intimate type performance with such gems as Polly and Lay it all on me. Halfway to Everywhere was simply powerful and oh so tight. I will not write a long winded review and the songs mentioned are just examples. Having said that, this show from start to finish was absolutely fantastic and well worth a persons' hard earned dough to purchase. These guys are the best Rock n' Roll band out there right now so take an evening of your time and check them out. See ya guys in Cedar Rapids. Peace to all...

   AFA  (7/22/2008 6:49:35 AM)

Musically a great show. Surprisingly, no tunes from Southern Harmony but a good show nonetheless. In "Wiser Time", Adam did a very different solo from what Ed use to do but still cool. The band killed "Lay It On Me" - not normally one of my favourite tunes but it was the highlight of the show for me...outstanding. Also particularly fantastic versions of "Let Me Share the Ride", "Josephine" and "Halfway to Everywhere." Thx for playing TO.

   Mike  (7/20/2008 9:56:00 AM)

Quite a different show for us anyways. We've been seeing the Crowes ever since the '92 free concert at Mel Lastman Square (anyone have a copy of that?!?)
The show was a lot less trippy than usual but it was nice to hear the guys play straight up songs. Highlight for me was the opening (wounded bird) and Halfway to Everywhere. Choice covers as well...Quinn was a surprise and its always great to hear Don't Do It.
We waited around after the show as we could see Chris and the entourage smoking upstairs (he's got a Neil Young pot box just like mine!) Everyone left separately and after an hour Chris came down and signed stuff for everyone. Was the 60 minute wait worth the undeciperable scribble on my vinyl Warpaint album? You bet.

   eclecticelegance  (7/18/2008 2:24:06 PM)

Man I love seeing Black Crowes live. I've pretty much given up on bands ever "playing their old stuff" at shows by this point, after having my heart broken during an indie rock phase, so the show was really pleasing to me. Hearing a band touring and just playing the hell out of their new songs, which are usually the ones they've practiced most and are the tightest on, is almost preferable for me to hearing them stumble through old tracks people are shouting from the audience. Really great set, gonna be playing in my car for a lot of drives to work.

   pk  (7/18/2008 1:04:43 PM)

Caught Massey Hall on the 12th. great venue.Not a sell out(too bad)Played a bunch of Warpaint. I think much of the crowd was waiting for a few older tunes.I don't think many were real familiar with the new album. Great show,great lights. A few more songs from the past would have been nice. First few songs were blisteringly loud,,, that was remedied shortly. Rich, Sven and Steve(and kids) came out of sound check and chatted with folks out back by the buses for a bit.Good show
pk

PAGE  1  [POST]

Download The Black Crowes 7/12/2008